Articles and Announcements

Upcoming Events

Save the Date!

2023 Annual Institute

June 8-11, 2023
Barnard College, NYC

Log in


Please email us to ask for the temporary mailing address that we're using during Covid-19. 

The Reacting Consortium, Barnard College
3009 Broadway
New York, NY 10027






Nicolas Proctor
Executive Director

Contact with questions about: Anything Else

Mark C. Carnes
Emeritus Director

Contact with questions about: Grants

Jennifer Worth
Administrative Director

Contact with questions about: Event Planning, Billing, Scheduling

Maddie Provo
Membership & Outreach Manager

Contact with questions about: Membership

Kelly McFall
Editorial Board Chair

Contact with questions about: Game Development

Beth Wightman
Newsletter Editor in Chief

Michaele Ferguson
Reacting Special Envoy

Noah Trujillo
Digital Resources Coordinator

Contact with questions about: Game Files and Website Management

Hadassah Umbarger
Student Employee
Lauren Unterberger
Student Employee


The Reacting Consortium Board is comprised of affiliated faculty and administrators with experience in game or course development. Each new board member is elected to a three-year term by a majority vote of the current board. The members of the board will hold three-year staggered appointments and may be re-elected once for a total of two terms. A member who has achieved the term limit must wait at least two years before being eligible for nomination to the board again.

Each board member is expected to attend the board meeting at the Annual Institute at Barnard College (early June aside from global pandemic years), as well as to participate in both quarterly virtual board and committee conference calls throughout the year.


Serving over the 2022-2023 term

Ben Alpers
University of Oklahoma

Jonathan Earle
Louisiana State University

Ethan Fredrick

University of Minnesota

Gretchen Galbraith

Chair of Board and Executive Committee
SUNY - Potsdam

John Lucaites
Chair of the Governance & Nominations Committee  
Indiana University - Bloomington

Kelly McFall 
Chair of the Reacting Editorial Board
Newman University

Haley Price

Student Representative

Brown University

Verdis Robinson
Chair of the Diversity and Accessibility Committee
Campus Compact 

Judith Shapiro 
Vice Chair of Board and Executive Committee
The Teagle Foundation and Barnard College (emerita)

Jace Weaver
Chair of the Publishing Committee

Beth Wightman
California State University - Northridge 


Our committees are comprised of both Reacting Consortium Board members and non-board members of our community. In addition to the committees listed below, we regularly have ad hoc and temporary task forces to address issues and challenges. If you are interested in serving on a committee, please contact us for more information.

  • Executive Committee 
  • Membership & Outreach Committee
  • Governance & Nominations Committee
  • Diversity and Inclusion Committee
  • Publishing Committee
  • Reacting Editorial Board 

This website is still in beta.  Please email us with feedback and ideas. Thank you for your patience and understanding.  

You may know us as RTTP Reacting to the Past educational games gamification simulations classroom simulations case studies case study method history historical role-playing role playing games LARP ing role play games for education help me be a better professor college professor alternatives to lectures active learning active-learning learning activities energize your classroom best practices AHA the chronicle teaching learning center teaching excellence public speaking  promote metacognition emotional intelligence teach empathy student agency what is Reacting to the Past the Reacting Consortium immersive role-playing games  educational debate debating economic simulations historical simulation model UN 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software